Marvel’s Avengers

by: Ty Smith

New Avengers/ Avengers/ Secret Wars is a series of comics created by Marvel and written mostly by Johnathan Hickman. The first issue was published on July 23, 2013, and would conclude in Secret Wars #9.

The story revolves around the Illuminate, which consists of: Dr. Strange, Iron Man, Black Panther, Captain America, and Namor. The story begins in Wakanda, where another Earth is descending upon ours. A woman named the black swan descends from the world, claiming that she has to destroy one of the Earths. Basically, the Earth that is descending towards ours, is from another universe. If both Earths hit each other, both universes will collapse. If one is the destroyed, the other will continue to exist. I cant explain too much after that, for I’ll run the risk of spoiling the rest of the plot.

This is by far best Avengers comic run, and one of the greatest comic series ever created. Johnathan Hickman’s writing is top tier; it’s almost as if he submits this as a book and then somebody else turns it into blocks and panels. He’ll say or mention things early in the series that would be insignificant in that moment, but will pay off towards the climax. If i had to rate it, I would give it a 9/10.Even though his writing is great, it is not perfect. Secret Wars felt like it should’ve been 12 issues, as some of the events in the middle barely have explanation, but ended up concluding at issue #9. Nevertheless, you should read this comic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.